Hands of Protection to Prevent Child Abuse is a non-profit organization that was created to increase public awareness of child abuse and neglect in communities. Efforts Include distribution of valuable information and resources, the organization of various events to inform the public of the signs and kinds (of abuse) and how to help a child in need.

Hands of Protection to Prevent Child Abuse provides seminars, materials, and varied activities including the organizing of events (planting of pinwheel gardens, vigils, 5K Walks, etc.) to support being a voice for children in need. This year our focus includes implementing of strategies to help ensure that every child has an equal opportunity for healthy growth and development.

Goals (2020-2021)

To work closely and develop partnerships with varied agencies and organizations that provide needed services to strengthen communities.

Promote evidence based concepts/programs including the Five Protective Factors, Recognizing and Responding to Suspicions of Child Maltreatment, ACES/Resilience, and others.

Increase participation of churches, businesses, organizations, etc. in varied activities during the Prevention of Child Abuse Month (creating of pinwheel gardens.

Use Website/Facebook to provide announcements, valuable articles, information, and resources that support the awareness and prevention of child maltreatment.

A special thank you for everyone's continue support!

Board Leadership

Hands of Protection to Prevent Child Abuse is led by six volunteer leaders dedicated to ensure that all children have an opportunity to grow in a nurturing environment.


Ronald Penny, Jr., President

Channte Keith, Vice President

Elder Vandolyn Bradley, Secretary

Cassie Arnette, Recording Secretary

Jo Ann Phillips, Financial Secretary

Dr. Carolyn Penny, Director


Bertrand Birdsall - Chair

Ethel Childs - Co-Chair

Cassie Cox Ronald Penny, Jr.

Mary Hinton Faye Terrell

Marjorie Heard


JoAnn Phillips - Chair

Terri Adams Wiladean Thomas


Pat Grantham - Chair

Barbara Floyd - Co-Chair

Elvivian Brown Tamela Murphy

Jackie Brown JoAnn Phillips

Elizabeth Chance Macine Powell


Tamela Murphy - Chair

Margaret Herder Hill - Co-Chair

Michelle Bridges Vivian Hurlston

Stephen D’Arbeau Melandie Matthews

Ariane Dolby Ron Penny, Jr.

Margaret Herder Hill Wiladean Thomas


Elizabeth Chance - Chair

Macine Powell - Co-Chair

Judith Bennett Reverend Dorothy O’Neal

Elvivian Brown Kieva Robinson

Cecelia Chapman Eula Rush

Ariane Dolby Vinita Sharma

Vivian Hurlston Janice Smith

Jason Mahoney Wiladean Thomas

Charita Murphy Betty Bethea Williams

Jessica Williams


Minister Vandolyn Bradley - Chair

Orena Hooker - Co-Chair

Stephen D’Arbeau Channte’ Keith

Margaret Herder Carolyn Penny

Oreno Hooker JoAnn Phillips

Wilma Jackson